Служите нуждающимся людям и сообществам и создавайте возможности для людей испытать радость служения другим.

booths_edited.jpg

История VOAWW

Наше имя

Взаимодействие с другими людьми

В дни нашего основания в 1896 году «добровольцем» был любой, кто был привержен миссии или делу. Наше название означало, что в организацию входят люди, которые решили посвятить свою жизнь помощи другим.

Сегодня наши услуги предоставляются через партнерство профессиональных сотрудников, волонтеров и других сторонников сообщества. Волонтеры играют важную роль во всех аспектах нашего служения и помогают нам охватить тысячи людей больше, чем мы могли бы с помощью одного персонала.

svisc-4_edited.jpg
Основание

Взаимодействие с другими людьми

Движение «Добровольцы Америки» распространилось на Западный Вашингтон в 1898 году, всего через два года после того, как основатели Баллингтон и Мод Бут объявили в Нью-Йорке, что они «пойдут туда, где мы нужны, и сделаем все, что попадется под руку». Обучение людей тому, как вести самостоятельную жизнь, было краеугольным принципом в этой развивающейся организации.

Взаимодействие с другими людьми

Поскольку «Кабинки» составляли карту национальной истории организации, в течение многих лет на местном уровне «Добровольцы Америки» разрабатывали свои общинные программы отдельно в двух филиалах в Сиэтле и Эверетте. В 1999 году эти членские организации объединились в то, что сейчас известно как «Волонтеры Америки» в Западном Вашингтоне, и ежегодно отвечает на более чем 350 000 запросов о помощи.

191222-LOY-DavidM_02_edited.jpg
Отвечая на нужды западного Вашингтона

«Добровольцы Америки» были евангелистами в Сиэтле в 1898 году. После того, как в 1912 году они были зарегистрированы как «Волонтеры Америки в Вашингтоне», работа организации постепенно превратилась в агентство социального обслуживания.

Добровольцы Америки Северо-Запад Вашингтон начали свою деятельность в Эверетте в 1915 году и действовали как форпост филиала в Сиэтле, предлагая ранние программы, сосредоточенные на Центре реабилитации мужчин и благотворительных магазинах. К 1927 году услуги расширились, чтобы удовлетворить растущие потребности области, и форпост стал отдельной ветвью Национальных добровольцев Америки.

Взаимодействие с другими людьми

Между 1927 и 1978 годами эта глава расширилась и включила несколько новых программ, включая воскресную школу, молодежные программы и летний лагерь в Султане Camp Volasuca. В 1971 и 1974 годах благодаря многим местным партнерствам были построены новые лагерные сооружения, включая большой и маленький А-образный каркас и баню.

В 1985 году национальный офис выдал разрешение на деятельность в качестве некоммерческой корпорации штата Вашингтон.

everett-drivethru--08.jpg
Наше министерство обслуживания

Взаимодействие с другими людьми

Добровольцы Америки - это движение веры в действии, экуменическое сообщество веры, объединенное в служении Богу и человечеству. Наша христианская духовная основа действительно отличает «Добровольцев Америки» от большинства других социальных организаций.

Нас мотивируют сострадание, прощение и надежда. Эти строительные блоки нашей веры побудили нас создавать программы и услуги, которые отвечают основным потребностям нашего сообщества и служат нашим наиболее уязвимым соседям.

VOAWW’s Commitment to Justice

 

The events throughout America in the Spring of 2020 highlighted long-standing injustices. To respond to the needs of historically marginalized communities and live up to our values, VOAWW formed the Floyd Committee, dedicated to the movement inspired by the death of George Floyd and comprised of a cross-section of our front-line staff and leaders. 

 

The Floyd Committee works to advance our justice, equality, diversity and inclusion (JEDI) goals throughout the State of Washington, in partnership with over 480 staff and nearly 800 volunteers. Our JEDI work guides our ongoing efforts to make VOAWW a place where we can each thrive through relationships with others, understanding history, self-reflection, and listening to those who have been excluded from holding power and influence. By honoring and learning from each other, we will be a stronger VOA, a stronger community, and a stronger country.

 

If you have questions about our JEDI work, please reach out to DEI Specialist Abigail Schoppen at aschoppen@voaww.org.

OUR MISSION

Serve people and communities in need and create opportunities for people to experience the joy of serving others.

Our Services

booths_edited.jpg

The VOAWW Story

Our Name​

In the days of our founding in 1896, a "volunteer" was anyone who was committed to a mission or cause. Our name signified that the organization was comprised of people who had chosen to spend their lives helping others.

 

Today, our services are delivered through a partnership of professional staff, volunteers and other community supporters. Volunteers are instrumental in every aspect of our ministry of service and help us reach thousands more people than we could with staff alone.

svisc-4_edited.jpg
Founding

The Volunteers of America movement spread to Western Washington in 1898, just two years after founders Ballington and Maud Booth proclaimed in New York that they would "go where we are needed and do whatever came to hand." Teaching people how to lead self-sufficient lives has been a cornerstone principle in this evolving organization.

As the Booths were charting the organization's national history, for many years locally, Volunteers of America developed its community-based programs separately at two affiliate locations in Seattle and Everett. In 1999, these affiliates merged into what is now known as Volunteers of America Western Washington and responds to more than 350,000 requests for assistance each year.

191222-LOY-DavidM_02_edited.jpg
Responding to needs in Western Washington

 

Volunteers of America was an evangelical presence in Seattle in 1898. After becoming incorporated in 1912 as Volunteers of America of Washington, the organization's work gradually evolved into a social service agency.

 

Volunteers of America Northwest Washington began in Everett in 1915 and operated as an outpost of the Seattle-based affiliate, offering early programs that centered on the Men's Rehabilitation Center and thrift stores. By 1927, services expanded to meet the area's growing needs, and the outpost became a separate branch of National Volunteers of America.

Between 1927 and 1978, this chapter grew to include several new programs including a Sunday school, youth programs, and Camp Volasuca, a summer camp in Sultan. In 1971 and 1974, through many local partnerships, new camp facilities were built including a large and small A-frame and a bathhouse.

 

In 1985, the national office granted a charter to begin to operate as a Washington State nonprofit corporation.

everett-drivethru--08.jpg
Our Ministry of Service

Volunteers of America is a movement of faith in action, an ecumenical community of faith united in service to God and to humanity. Our Christian spiritual foundation truly sets Volunteers of America apart from most other human services organizations.

Compassion, forgiveness, and hope motivate us. These building blocks of our faith have led us to create programs and services that go to the heart of our community's needs, serving our most vulnerable neighbors.

Let's Connect!

Enter your email address to receive our newsletter with updates and news.

2802 Broadway

Everett, WA 98201

info@voaww.org

425.259.3191

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • LinkedIn

© 2020 Volunteers of America Western Washington. All rights reserved. We are designated tax-exempt under section 501(c)3 of the Internal Revenue Code.