為需要幫助的人和社區服務,並為人們創造機會,體驗為他人服務的樂趣。

booths_edited.jpg

VOAWW的故事

我們的名字

在我們1896年成立的日子裡,“志願人員”是致力於執行任務或事業的任何人。我們的名字意味著該組織由那些選擇畢生致力於幫助他人的人們組成。

今天,我們的服務是通過專業人員,志願者和其他社區支持者的合作來提供的。志願人員在我們服務部的各個方面都發揮了重要作用,比起單單人員,志願人員就可以幫助成千上萬的人。

svisc-4_edited.jpg
成立時間

創始人Ballington和Maud Booth在紐約宣布他們將“去需要我們的地方並儘一切努力”之後的兩年,即1898年,美國志願人員運動蔓延至西華盛頓。在這個不斷發展的組織中,教人們如何過著自給自足的生活一直是其基本原則。

由於這些攤位正在記錄該組織的國家歷史,因此在當地已有很多年了,美國志願者組織分別在西雅圖和埃弗雷特的兩個分支機構開發了基於社區的計劃。在1999年,這些分支機構合併為現在稱為美國華盛頓西部的志願者組織,每年響應超過350,000個援助請求。

191222-LOY-DavidM_02_edited.jpg
響應華盛頓西部的需求

美國志願人員組織於1898年在西雅圖傳播福音。自1912年以華盛頓志願人員組織形式成立美國志願組織之後,該組織的工作逐漸演變為一個社會服務機構。

美國西北華盛頓的志願人員於1915年在埃弗里特(Everett)開始工作,並作為西雅圖分公司的前哨基地開展業務,提供以男性康復中心和舊貨店為中心的早期計劃。到1927年,服務範圍不斷擴大,以滿足該地區日益增長的需求,該哨所變成了美國國家志願軍的一個單獨分支。

在1927年至1978年之間,本章逐漸增加,包括幾個新計劃,其中包括一個星期日學校,青年計劃和蘇丹夏令營Volasuca營。 1971年和1974年,通過與許多地方的合作,建立了新的營地設施,包括大型和小型A型架和浴室。

1985年,國家代表處授予憲章,開始以華盛頓州的一家非營利性公司的身份開展業務。

everett-drivethru--08.jpg
我們的服務部

美國志願者是對行動的信仰運動,是為上帝和人類服務的團結的普世信仰團體。我們的基督教精神基礎將美國志願人員與大多數其他人類服務組織區分開來。

同情,寬恕和希望激勵著我們。這些信念的基礎使我們創建了符合社區需求核心的計劃和服務,為我們最脆弱的鄰居提供服務。

VOAWW’s Commitment to Justice

 

The events throughout America in the Spring of 2020 highlighted long-standing injustices. To respond to the needs of historically marginalized communities and live up to our values, VOAWW formed the Floyd Committee, dedicated to the movement inspired by the death of George Floyd and comprised of a cross-section of our front-line staff and leaders. 

 

The Floyd Committee works to advance our justice, equality, diversity and inclusion (JEDI) goals throughout the State of Washington, in partnership with 450 staff and nearly 800 volunteers. Our JEDI work guides our ongoing efforts to make VOAWW a place where we can each thrive through relationships with others, understanding history, self-reflection, and listening to those who have been excluded from holding power and influence. By honoring and learning from each other, we will be a stronger VOA, a stronger community, and a stronger country.

 

If you have questions about our JEDI work, please reach out to Chief Administrative Officer Brian Rice at brice@voaww.org.

OUR MISSION

Serve people and communities in need and create opportunities for people to experience the joy of serving others.

Our Services

booths_edited.jpg

The VOAWW Story

Our Name​

In the days of our founding in 1896, a "volunteer" was anyone who was committed to a mission or cause. Our name signified that the organization was comprised of people who had chosen to spend their lives helping others.

 

Today, our services are delivered through a partnership of professional staff, volunteers and other community supporters. Volunteers are instrumental in every aspect of our ministry of service and help us reach thousands more people than we could with staff alone.

svisc-4_edited.jpg
Founding

The Volunteers of America movement spread to Western Washington in 1898, just two years after founders Ballington and Maud Booth proclaimed in New York that they would "go where we are needed and do whatever came to hand." Teaching people how to lead self-sufficient lives has been a cornerstone principle in this evolving organization.

As the Booths were charting the organization's national history, for many years locally, Volunteers of America developed its community-based programs separately at two affiliate locations in Seattle and Everett. In 1999, these affiliates merged into what is now known as Volunteers of America Western Washington and responds to more than 350,000 requests for assistance each year.

191222-LOY-DavidM_02_edited.jpg
Responding to needs in Western Washington

 

Volunteers of America was an evangelical presence in Seattle in 1898. After becoming incorporated in 1912 as Volunteers of America of Washington, the organization's work gradually evolved into a social service agency.

 

Volunteers of America Northwest Washington began in Everett in 1915 and operated as an outpost of the Seattle-based affiliate, offering early programs that centered on the Men's Rehabilitation Center and thrift stores. By 1927, services expanded to meet the area's growing needs, and the outpost became a separate branch of National Volunteers of America.

Between 1927 and 1978, this chapter grew to include several new programs including a Sunday school, youth programs, and Camp Volasuca, a summer camp in Sultan. In 1971 and 1974, through many local partnerships, new camp facilities were built including a large and small A-frame and a bathhouse.

 

In 1985, the national office granted a charter to begin to operate as a Washington State nonprofit corporation.

everett-drivethru--08.jpg
Our Ministry of Service

Volunteers of America is a movement of faith in action, an ecumenical community of faith united in service to God and to humanity. Our Christian spiritual foundation truly sets Volunteers of America apart from most other human services organizations.

Compassion, forgiveness, and hope motivate us. These building blocks of our faith have led us to create programs and services that go to the heart of our community's needs, serving our most vulnerable neighbors.

Let's Connect!

Enter your email address to receive our newsletter with updates and news.

2802 Broadway

Everett, WA 98201

info@voaww.org

425.259.3191

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • LinkedIn

© 2020 Volunteers of America Western Washington. All rights reserved. We are designated tax-exempt under section 501(c)3 of the Internal Revenue Code.