Diene Menschen und Gemeinschaften in Not und schaffe Möglichkeiten für Menschen, die Freude zu erleben, anderen zu dienen.

booths_edited.jpg

Die VOAWW-Geschichte

Unser Name

.

In den Tagen unserer Gründung im Jahr 1896 war ein "Freiwilliger" jeder, der sich einer Mission oder Sache verschrieben hatte. Unser Name bedeutete, dass die Organisation aus Menschen bestand, die beschlossen hatten, ihr Leben damit zu verbringen, anderen zu helfen.

Heute werden unsere Dienstleistungen durch eine Partnerschaft von professionellen Mitarbeitern, Freiwilligen und anderen Unterstützern der Gemeinschaft erbracht. Freiwillige sind maßgeblich an allen Aspekten unseres Dienstes beteiligt und helfen uns, Tausende mehr Menschen zu erreichen, als wir mit Mitarbeitern allein könnten.

svisc-4_edited.jpg
Gründung

.

Die Volunteers of America-Bewegung breitete sich 1898 nach West-Washington aus, nur zwei Jahre nachdem die Gründer Ballington und Maud Booth in New York verkündet hatten, dass sie "dorthin gehen würden, wo wir gebraucht werden, und alles tun würden, was zur Hand war". Menschen zu lehren, wie man ein autarkes Leben führt, war ein Eckpfeiler dieser sich entwickelnden Organisation.

.

Während die Stände die nationale Geschichte der Organisation über viele Jahre vor Ort aufzeichneten, entwickelten Volunteers of America ihre Community-basierten Programme separat an zwei Standorten in Seattle und Everett. 1999 schlossen sich diese Mitgliedsorganisationen zu den heutigen Volunteers of America Western Washington zusammen und beantworteten jedes Jahr mehr als 350.000 Anfragen nach Unterstützung.

191222-LOY-DavidM_02_edited.jpg
Auf Bedürfnisse in West-Washington reagieren

Volunteers of America war 1898 eine evangelische Präsenz in Seattle. Nachdem sie 1912 als Volunteers of America of Washington aufgenommen worden war, entwickelte sich die Arbeit der Organisation allmählich zu einer Agentur für soziale Dienste.

Volunteers of America Northwest Washington wurde 1915 in Everett gegründet und fungierte als Außenposten der in Seattle ansässigen Tochtergesellschaft. Sie bot frühe Programme an, die sich auf das Men's Rehabilitation Center und Secondhand-Läden konzentrierten. Bis 1927 wurden die Dienstleistungen erweitert, um den wachsenden Bedürfnissen der Region gerecht zu werden, und der Außenposten wurde zu einem separaten Zweig der National Volunteers of America.

.

Zwischen 1927 und 1978 wurde dieses Kapitel um mehrere neue Programme erweitert, darunter eine Sonntagsschule, Jugendprogramme und Camp Volasuca, ein Sommercamp in Sultan. In den Jahren 1971 und 1974 wurden durch viele lokale Partnerschaften neue Lagereinrichtungen gebaut, darunter ein großer und ein kleiner A-Rahmen und ein Badehaus.

1985 erteilte das nationale Büro eine Charta, um als gemeinnützige Gesellschaft des US-Bundesstaates Washington zu arbeiten.

everett-drivethru--08.jpg
Unser Dienstministerium

.

Volunteers of America ist eine Bewegung des Glaubens an das Handeln, eine ökumenische Glaubensgemeinschaft, die im Dienst an Gott und an der Menschheit vereint ist. Unsere christlich-spirituelle Grundlage unterscheidet Volunteers of America wirklich von den meisten anderen Organisationen des menschlichen Dienstes.

Mitgefühl, Vergebung und Hoffnung motivieren uns. Diese Bausteine ​​unseres Glaubens haben uns dazu veranlasst, Programme und Dienstleistungen zu entwickeln, die den Bedürfnissen unserer Gemeinde gerecht werden und unseren am stärksten gefährdeten Nachbarn dienen.

VOAWW’s Commitment to Justice

 

The events throughout America in the Spring of 2020 highlighted long-standing injustices. To respond to the needs of historically marginalized communities and live up to our values, VOAWW formed the Floyd Committee, dedicated to the movement inspired by the death of George Floyd and comprised of a cross-section of our front-line staff and leaders. 

 

The Floyd Committee works to advance our justice, equality, diversity and inclusion (JEDI) goals throughout the State of Washington, in partnership with over 480 staff and nearly 800 volunteers. Our JEDI work guides our ongoing efforts to make VOAWW a place where we can each thrive through relationships with others, understanding history, self-reflection, and listening to those who have been excluded from holding power and influence. By honoring and learning from each other, we will be a stronger VOA, a stronger community, and a stronger country.

 

If you have questions about our JEDI work, please reach out to DEI Specialist Abigail Schoppen at aschoppen@voaww.org.

OUR MISSION

Serve people and communities in need and create opportunities for people to experience the joy of serving others.

Our Services

booths_edited.jpg

The VOAWW Story

Our Name​

In the days of our founding in 1896, a "volunteer" was anyone who was committed to a mission or cause. Our name signified that the organization was comprised of people who had chosen to spend their lives helping others.

 

Today, our services are delivered through a partnership of professional staff, volunteers and other community supporters. Volunteers are instrumental in every aspect of our ministry of service and help us reach thousands more people than we could with staff alone.

svisc-4_edited.jpg
Founding

The Volunteers of America movement spread to Western Washington in 1898, just two years after founders Ballington and Maud Booth proclaimed in New York that they would "go where we are needed and do whatever came to hand." Teaching people how to lead self-sufficient lives has been a cornerstone principle in this evolving organization.

As the Booths were charting the organization's national history, for many years locally, Volunteers of America developed its community-based programs separately at two affiliate locations in Seattle and Everett. In 1999, these affiliates merged into what is now known as Volunteers of America Western Washington and responds to more than 350,000 requests for assistance each year.

191222-LOY-DavidM_02_edited.jpg
Responding to needs in Western Washington

 

Volunteers of America was an evangelical presence in Seattle in 1898. After becoming incorporated in 1912 as Volunteers of America of Washington, the organization's work gradually evolved into a social service agency.

 

Volunteers of America Northwest Washington began in Everett in 1915 and operated as an outpost of the Seattle-based affiliate, offering early programs that centered on the Men's Rehabilitation Center and thrift stores. By 1927, services expanded to meet the area's growing needs, and the outpost became a separate branch of National Volunteers of America.

Between 1927 and 1978, this chapter grew to include several new programs including a Sunday school, youth programs, and Camp Volasuca, a summer camp in Sultan. In 1971 and 1974, through many local partnerships, new camp facilities were built including a large and small A-frame and a bathhouse.

 

In 1985, the national office granted a charter to begin to operate as a Washington State nonprofit corporation.

everett-drivethru--08.jpg
Our Ministry of Service

Volunteers of America is a movement of faith in action, an ecumenical community of faith united in service to God and to humanity. Our Christian spiritual foundation truly sets Volunteers of America apart from most other human services organizations.

Compassion, forgiveness, and hope motivate us. These building blocks of our faith have led us to create programs and services that go to the heart of our community's needs, serving our most vulnerable neighbors.

Let's Connect!

Enter your email address to receive our newsletter with updates and news.

2802 Broadway

Everett, WA 98201

info@voaww.org

425.259.3191

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • LinkedIn

© 2020 Volunteers of America Western Washington. All rights reserved. We are designated tax-exempt under section 501(c)3 of the Internal Revenue Code.