調解服務

調解可以幫助衝突中的人們快速,經濟地找到可行的解決方案,而不是承受衝突壓力或正式法律體系的焦慮。

通過自願和保密的程序,中立的調解員可以幫助衝突各方達成相互滿意的協議。調解員協助各方相互溝通,並鼓勵每個人共同解決問題,從而滿足每個人的需求。

調解可用於各種爭議,包括但不限於:

  • 家庭(離婚,育兒計劃,老年護理和父母/青少年問題)

  • 鄰里

  • 商業/消費者

  • 房東/房客

  • 工作場所

  • 止贖

在與我們聯繫進行調解之前,請查看計劃和常見問題解答。
Signing a Contract

調解的好處

  • 雙贏解決方案

  • 創建自己的解決方案

  • 重建關係

  • 私人和保密的

  • 比法院系統快得多

  • 比訴訟成本更低

  • 高結算率

 

從調解中可以期待什麼

調解員的作用

剛果民主共和國的調解人是中立的第三方調解人。他們的存在是為了幫助客戶有效地解決他們的爭議,並鼓勵客戶共同努力以尋求解決方案。調解員不會支持或提供建議。他們不會告訴您該怎麼做或對您強加決定。

良好的信念

在調解中,您將被要求真誠參與。這將包括傾聽另一方的意見,對解決方案保持開放態度,並為實現雙贏解決方案而努力。將要求客戶認真考慮調解過程中提出的建議。

常見的禮節

對於客戶來說,使用普通禮貌的基本規則參與調解非常重要。您將被要求避免使用煽動性的語言,打個電話或按對方的熱鍵來打擾對方。

過程

該過程旨在幫助您與其他人交流並專注於解決問題。它將包括調解員的介紹性發言,以及你們每個人的發言不間斷。該聲明應側重於帶給您調解的內容以及您希望看到的情況。然後,調解員將幫助你們兩個創建在調解過程中討論的項目列表。您將有機會與其他人進行協商,而調解員則通過促進對話來協助您。最後,調解員將把你們兩個達成的任何協議寫成書面形式。

準備調解

準備調解客戶很重要。請記住,在調解之前,您需要通過電子郵件將所有需要幫助您做出明智決定的文書工作發送給案件經理。完成調解準備工作表也可能會有所幫助。通過在線調解,重要的是至少在調解開始前兩週將這些文件提供給您的案件經理。

法律諮詢

案件中的剛果民主共和國工作人員和調解人都不會提供法律諮詢。如果您在調解之前需要律師的幫助,我們建議您尋求任何外部信息,以幫助您進行談判。

我們有許多信息資源和工作表可幫助您準備調解

調解可以為您做什麼?

 

小額錢債法庭

當您在Snohomish縣(喀斯喀特,埃弗里特,Evergreen或South Division),Island County或Skagit County提出索賠時,您首次出庭是在調解會議上。您無需事先與爭議解決中心聯繫。調解員將自動在法院進行調解。

如果您對提交法院文書或法院程序有疑問,則需要聯繫相應的地方法院。

自助材料

關於小額錢債法庭

訪問washingtonlawhelp.org

小額索償程序

聽證會的日子

法官將就調解程序以及全面參與調解程序為何有益的內容致開幕詞。法官將審閱日曆,如果案件雙方都在場,他們將被調解。

調解員將護送您進入調解室,一名調解員將在其中提供一些其他信息,以幫助您充分利用調解過程。調解員將幫助您協商您的情況,以查看是否可以達成滿意的解決方案。所有和解均具有法律約束力,並保護雙方。解決您的案件沒有風險。如果任何一方違反合同,則另一方可以要求法官進行審判。

如何準備

將所有文件進行調解,將在審判時提出。這使所有各方都可以根據審判時的陳述做出明智的決定。

調解過程中不需要證人,將要求證人在調解之外等待。只有在爭端中列出的所有當事方都同意讓證人參加的情況下,證人才能參與調解。

過程

調解員是中立的第三方,不提供法律建議或建議如何解決您的案件。他們受過嚴格的培訓,將指導您完成整個過程,使每一方都有機會分享解決案件的觀點和選擇。達成雙方滿意的協議後,調解員將寫出您的協議,其中記錄了您的和解細節。

調解過程是保密的。請求和報價受機密保護。一旦您開始審判,法官將不會聽到調解的提議。這使您在提出解決案件的提議時富有創造力和靈活性。

可能的結果

調解當天可能會有3種結果。

  • 您達成和解,並與店員達成協議。這不是一個判斷。

  • 如果您在調解中合作良好,但沒有當天解決所有必要的信息,則可以免費安排第二次調解,以重新達成和解並努力達成和解。

  • 在與調解員會面後,如果您發現需要法官審理您的案件,則可以與書記員安排審判日期。

 

斯卡吉特山谷服務

我們提供各種在線服務,專門針對斯卡吉特山谷的獨特性質。

我們通過低成本的育兒計劃,分居和離婚在線調解服務以及育兒和共同育兒課程,為正在生活中發生變化的家庭提供服務。 我們免費提供“父母與青少年”對話,以促進家庭和睦與理解。

我們的社區調解中心是解決商業糾紛,鄰居間衝突,自然資源衝突,工作場所分歧等資源。

我們提供有關信任,溝通,領導力和其他主題的工作場所培訓,以培養健康,高效的員工隊伍。

調解可以幫助衝突中的人們快速,經濟地找到可行的解決方案,而不是承受衝突壓力或正式法律體系的焦慮。通過自願和保密的程序,中立的調解員可以幫助衝突各方達成相互滿意的協議。調解員協助各方相互溝通,並鼓勵每個人共同解決問題,從而滿足每個人的需求。調解可用於各種爭議,包括但不限於:

  • 家庭:例如離婚,育兒計劃,養老和父母/青少年問題

  • 鄰里

  • 商業/消費者

  • 房東/房客

  • 工作場所

斯卡吉特山谷在線調解

斯卡吉特山谷小額錢債調解

在斯卡吉特縣,大多數小額錢債案件都必須經過調解,然後才能進行審判。通過訪問Skagit縣地方法院網站了解更多信息。

培訓機會

調解培訓

我們提供最高水準的專業培訓,這些培訓是在衝突管理領域擁有三十多年的經驗而創建和發展的。我們的培訓師展示了廣泛的技能和洞察力,並使用交互式指導為參與者提供了各種講座,討論和實踐課程。我們提供各種親自培訓,包括:

  • 基本調解培訓

  • 家庭

  • 物業部

  • 可定制的培訓

專業發展

我們提供以下為期一天的專業發展培訓。

  • 解決工作場所的衝突

  • 信任工作場所

  • 有效領導者的溝通技巧

除了學習寶貴的生活技能外,許多學生還可以通過完成培訓獲得繼續教育學分,時鐘時間和大學學分。可以通過華盛頓州律師協會獲得繼續法律教育學分,而可以通過您的專業組織獲得其他學分。

學校

我們為學校管理員,老師和學生提供各種培訓。培訓包括針對員工和學生的衝突解決技能,以及針對學生的同伴調解培訓。請隨時與我們聯繫以定制適合您學校的培訓。

網上共同父母

這個在線的“共同父母”課程可幫助父母辦理離婚手續,幫助他們探索不斷變化的家庭動態和人際關係,同時關注孩子的需求。在本課程中,您將學習:

  1. 在離婚期間如何幫助您的孩子。

  2. 父母衝突對孩子的影響。

  3. 如何有效地成為父母,以幫助孩子們適應。

  4. 如何提高育兒技能和共同育兒技能。

  5. 如何理解悲傷和憤怒。

需要幫忙?致電SKAGIT VALLEY DRC電話1-800-280-4770

 

Mediation Fee Refund Policy

  • A non-refundable fee of $75.00 per party for case management applies.

  • After mediation fees are received by both parties, the fees are not refundable; however, the case will be placed in holding for one year, during which time clients may schedule mediation. After one year the fees are forfeited.

  • Cancellations requested after a mediation has been scheduled will result in fees being applied to future sessions and those fees will not be refunded. Cancelled mediations will require a $65 rescheduling fee.

Mediation Services

As an alternative to living with the stress of conflict or the anxiety of the formal legal system, mediation can help people in conflict find workable solutions quickly and affordably.

Using a voluntary and confidential process, neutral mediators help parties in conflict reach a mutually satisfying agreement. Mediators assist parties in communicating with each other and encourage everyone to collaboratively problem solve a resolution that meets everyone's needs.

Mediation can be used in a variety of disputes, including but not limited to:

  • Family (divorce, parenting plans, elder care, and parent/teen issues)

  • Neighborhood

  • Business/Consumer

  • Landlord/Tenant

  • Workplace

  • Foreclosure

Before contacting us about mediation, please review Scheduling and FAQ.
Signing a Contract

Benefits to Mediation

  • Win/Win solutions

  • Create your own solutions

  • Rebuild relationships

  • Private and confidential

  • Much faster than court system

  • Less costly than litigation

  • High settlement rate

 

What to Expect from Mediation

ROLE OF THE MEDIATOR

Mediators at the DRC are neutral, third party facilitators. They are present to help the clients communicate effectively about their dispute and encourage the clients to work collaboratively toward a solution. The mediators will not take sides or give advice. They will not tell you what to do or impose a decision on you.

GOOD FAITH

In mediation you will be asked to participate in good faith. This will include listening to the other party, keeping and open mind about solutions and truly working toward a win-win solution. Clients will be asked to give serious consideration to proposals made during the mediation.

COMMON COURTESY

It is very important for clients to participate in mediation using basic rules of common courtesy. You will be asked to refrain from interrupting the other party, using inflammatory language, name calling and pushing the other parties hot buttons.

THE PROCESS

The process is designed to help you communicate with the other person and focus on problem solving. It will include an introductory statement by the mediators, followed by uninterrupted statements by each of you. This statement should focus on what has brought you to the mediation and what you would like to see happen. The mediators will then help the two of you create a list of items to discuss during the mediation. You will be given an opportunity to negotiate with the other person while the mediators assist by facilitating the conversation. Finally the mediators will put into writing any agreements the two of you reach.

PREPARING FOR MEDIATION

It's important for mediation clients to be prepared. Please remember to email any paperwork you will need to help make an informed decision to your case manager prior to the mediation. It can also be helpful to complete a Mediation Preparation Worksheet. With online mediation, it is important to provide these documents to your case manager at least two weeks prior to your mediation.

LEGAL ADVICE

Neither DRC staff nor the mediators in a case will provide legal advice. If you need the assistance of an attorney prior to your mediation, you are encouraged to seek any outside information you will need to help you negotiate.

We have many informational resources and worksheets to assist in preparing for mediation

What can mediation do for you?

 

Small Claims Court

When you file a claim in Snohomish County (Cascade, Everett, Evergreen or South Division), Island County or Skagit County, your first date of appearance at court will be for a mediation session. You do not need to contact the Dispute Resolution Center prior. Mediators will be automatically provided for your mediation session at the courthouse.

 

If you have questions about filing your court paperwork or the court process, you will need to contact the appropriate District Court.

For self-help materials

regarding small claims court,

visit washingtonlawhelp.org

Small Claims Process

THE DAY OF YOUR HEARING

The judge will give opening remarks about the mediation process and why it’s beneficial to participate fully in the process. The judge will call through the calendar and in cases where both parties to a case are present, they will be sent to mediation.

 

Mediators will escort you to a mediation room where one mediator will deliver some additional information that will help you make the most of the mediation process. Mediators will help you negotiate your case to see if a satisfactory resolution can be reached. All settlements are legally binding and protect both parties. There is no risk to settling your case. If either party breaks the contract, the other can request a trial before a judge.

HOW TO PREPARE

Bring all documentation to mediation that you will be presenting at trial. This allows all parties to make an informed decision based on what will be presented at trial.

 

Witnesses are not necessary at mediation and will be asked to wait outside of the mediation. Witnesses only participate in mediation if all the parties listed in the dispute agree to have the witness participate.

THE

PROCESS

Mediators are neutral 3rd parties and do not give legal advice or recommend how to resolve your case. They are highly trained and will guide you through a process that will allow each party an opportunity to share the views and options for resolving your case. Once a mutually satisfying agreement has been reached the mediator will write out your agreement which captures the details of your settlement.

 

The mediation process is confidential. Requests and offers are protected by confidentiality. Once you go to trial the judge will not hear offers made in mediation. This allows you to be creative and flexible when making offers to resolve the case.

POSSIBLE OUTCOMES

There are 3 possible outcomes on the day of your mediation.

  • You reach a settlement and you file your agreement with the clerk. This is not a judgment.

  • If you’re working well together in mediation but you don’t have all of the necessary information to settle that day, you can schedule a second mediation at no charge to come back together and work toward a settlement.

  • If, after meeting with a mediator, you find you need the judge to hear your case, you can schedule a trial date with the clerk.

 

Skagit Valley Services

We offer a variety of online services specifically focused on the unique nature of Skagit Valley.

We serve families undergoing life changes with low-cost parenting plans, separation, and divorce online mediation services, as well as parenting and co-parenting classes. Our Parent-Teen facilitated conversations are offered free of charge, in order to promote family harmony and understanding.

Our community mediation center is a resource for resolving commercial disputes, neighbor-to-neighbor conflicts, natural resource conflicts, workplace disagreements, and more.

We offer workplace trainings on Trust, Communication, Leadership, and other topics that generate a healthy, productive workforce.

As an alternative to living with the stress of conflict or the anxiety of the formal legal system, mediation can help people in conflict find workable solutions quickly and affordably. Using a voluntary and confidential process, neutral mediators help parties in conflict reach a mutually satisfying agreement. Mediators assist parties in communicating with each other and encourage everyone to collaboratively problem solve a resolution that meets everyone's needs. Mediation can be used in a variety of disputes, including but not limited to:

  • Family: such as divorce, parenting plan, elder care and parent/teen issues

  • Neighborhood

  • Business/Consumer

  • Landlord/Tenant

  • Workplace

Skagit Valley Online Mediation

Skagit Valley Small Claims Mediation

Within Skagit County most small claims cases are required to go through mediation before trial will be conducted. Learn more by visiting the Skagit County District Court website.

TRAINING OPPORTUNITIES

Mediation Trainings

We offer professional training of the highest caliber, created and developed with over thirty years of experience in the conflict management field. Our trainers demonstrate a great breadth of skill and insight and use interactive instruction to provide a variety of lecture, discussion and practice sessions for participants. We offer a variety of in person trainings including:

  • Basic Mediation Training

  • Family

  • Property Division

  • Customizeable Trainings

Professional Development

We offer the following one day professional development trainings.

  • Resolving Conflict in the Workplace

  • Trust in the Workplace

  • Communication Skills for Effective Leaders

 

In addition to learning valuable life skills, many students receive continuing education credits, clock hours and college credits for completing our trainings. Continuing Legal Education credits can be received through the Washington State Bar Association and other credits may be available through your professional organization.

School

We provide a variety of training to school administrators, teachers and students. Training includes conflict resolution skills for staff and students as well as peer mediation training for students. Feel free to contact us to customize a training that works for your school.

Online Co-Parenting

This online Co-Parenting class assists parents going through divorce, helping them explore changing family dynamics and relationships, while focusing on the child's needs. In this class you will learn:

  1. How to help your children during a divorce.

  2. The impact of parental conflict on children.

  3. How to co-parent effectively to help kids adjust.

  4. How to improve parenting skills and co-parenting skills.

  5. How to understand grief and anger.

NEED HELP? CALL SKAGIT VALLEY DRC AT 1-800-280-4770